X-Plane Freeware Forums: Wien Schwechat - X-Plane Freeware Forums

Jump to content

Request Rules

  • Has it been Requested Before? By using the Search Button in the top right corner of your browser you can search this forum, or the whole website by entering the "keywords" of your request.
  • Have you Searched for this request on other sites (eg. Xplane.org)? By searching on other Xplane related sites for your request can save heaps of time for the people trying to answer your request. If you can't access the site chances are you haven't registered. If so, sign up, most of the time ITS FREE!
  • Have you tried Google (or any other search engine)? By "Googling" your request, your not only searching forum or a website but the Whole Global Web Network.
  • Always type what you're requesting in the Topic's Title. Please don't just write "Aircraft Request" or "Paint" this can really bug people and it's not helping your cause either.
  • Be specific (eg. ANA RR 747-400 with a green stripe on the tail and pictures of cats stuck in buckets along the side). Being specific means you're less likely to get answers that aren't to your liking.

  • Don't request people to make Aircraft/Scenery or other stuff, unless advised to do so.
  • DON'T WRITE YOUR WHOLE REQUEST IN A STUPID STYLE (EG. FULL CAPS)
  • Use spell check, and use appropriate grammer. If English is not your first language, have a native English speaker to help you. Nonsense posts will be deleted immediately, regardless of the language of the poster.
  • Don't "dig up" old posts. If its over 6 months old, it should be considered a closed topic, except in very rare and special circumstances!
  • Search for your request before you post it!
  • Help others out!


  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Wien Schwechat

#1 User is offline   yebopilot 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: betatester
  • Posts: 79
  • Joined: 09-February 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vienna
  • System:i have a mac G5 and use x-plane 8.60 RC4

  Posted 11 February 2007 - 02:23 AM

I am desperate for some scenery of Wien schwechat (LOWW) does anyone know where to get it??

thanks, yebopilot
Is wanting to be a pilot a sin??? LOL stupid question

Posted Image
0

#2 User is offline   Andrei~ 

  • Insomniac
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 740
  • Joined: 12-April 06
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Bucharest

Posted 11 February 2007 - 05:20 AM

You have to convert FS2004 LOWW scenery and you will get excellent results

Get the application here and get FS2004 LOWW here
0

#3 User is offline   captainpeter 

  • Administrator
  • View blog
  • View gallery
  • Group: Root Admin
  • Posts: 1,800
  • Joined: 03-November 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vienna/Austria
  • System:17" Macbook Pro i7, 8GB RAM

Posted 11 February 2007 - 06:08 AM

Or - if you are more adventurous - get FlyTampa Vienna.
Payware but definately worth every cent....

p
Posted Image
0

#4 User is offline   yebopilot 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: betatester
  • Posts: 79
  • Joined: 09-February 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vienna
  • System:i have a mac G5 and use x-plane 8.60 RC4

Posted 11 February 2007 - 08:04 AM

thanks a lot sorry about the huge pic changed it now
Is wanting to be a pilot a sin??? LOL stupid question

Posted Image
0

#5 User is offline   lfmt 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 28-April 06
  • Location:Montpellier (France)
  • Interests:l'avion , bien sr !!<br />mais aussi les voyages et la musique
  • System:Imac G5/Intel Core Duo/Ram1Go/Ge force 7300 128Mo

Posted 11 March 2007 - 11:54 AM

View Postnikereact, on Feb 11 2007, 12:20 PM, said:

You have to convert FS2004 LOWW scenery and you will get excellent results

Get the application here and get FS2004 LOWW here


HELLO !!

Thank you for your answer: Idid download LOWW and FS2XP, but I don't understand how works that software (even the explains in english)
Coukd you help me how to convert these FS scenery,please?

Thank's a lot :rolleyes2:
lfmt
Imac 27" Mac OS 10.6.8
Intel Core i7 quadricoeur à 2.93 GHz
SDRAM 8Go-ATI Readon HD 5750 -1Go
X-Plane 9.69
0

#6 User is offline   yebopilot 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: betatester
  • Posts: 79
  • Joined: 09-February 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vienna
  • System:i have a mac G5 and use x-plane 8.60 RC4

  Posted 11 March 2007 - 12:59 PM

you first have to make a new folder in "Custom Scenery" and leave it empty.
then you open up fs2xplane and you'll see three buttons saying "Choose". Click the top one and select the folder of the FS2004 scenery. then click on the bottom "choose" and select the empty folder from "Custom Scenery". after that select the season you want and hit Convert!

Hoped I could help! :)

Enjoy! :D

yebopilot
Is wanting to be a pilot a sin??? LOL stupid question

Posted Image
0

#7 User is offline   Julian Baquero 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: betatester
  • Posts: 186
  • Joined: 06-December 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia
  • Interests:Aviation, Air &amp; Space, Industrial Design, Architecture, Moutaineering, Music, Movies, Photography.
  • System:Dell Inspirion 1505/2GHz Core2Duo/2GB RAM/ATI X1400 256MB VRAM/Win XP/X-Plane 8.6

Posted 18 March 2007 - 08:35 PM

I have FlyTampa LOWW for FS9, I have converted the scenery using FS2X-Plane, but I have the following problem, when I go to LOWW I get floating runways, the aircraft lies at an altitude of about 340 feet, but the runways are about 30 feet above the gound. Does anybody know how this issue can be solved?
0

#8 User is offline   captainpeter 

  • Administrator
  • View blog
  • View gallery
  • Group: Root Admin
  • Posts: 1,800
  • Joined: 03-November 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vienna/Austria
  • System:17" Macbook Pro i7, 8GB RAM

Posted 18 March 2007 - 11:05 PM

do you have DSF global scenery for LOWW installed?

This scenery does require a few tiny fixes after conversion but once they are made it looks awesome and works without errors.
Posted Image
0

#9 User is offline   Julian Baquero 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: betatester
  • Posts: 186
  • Joined: 06-December 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bogota, Colombia
  • Interests:Aviation, Air &amp; Space, Industrial Design, Architecture, Moutaineering, Music, Movies, Photography.
  • System:Dell Inspirion 1505/2GHz Core2Duo/2GB RAM/ATI X1400 256MB VRAM/Win XP/X-Plane 8.6

Posted 19 March 2007 - 12:00 AM

View Postcaptainpeter, on Mar 19 2007, 12:05 AM, said:

do you have DSF global scenery for LOWW installed?

This scenery does require a few tiny fixes after conversion but once they are made it looks awesome and works without errors.

Hi Peter, yes I do have the DSF gobal scenery for LOWW (all Europe), but I really dont know what to do. FS2Xplane creates a new DSF and new apt.dat,fullapt.dat, and nav.dat in the CUSTOM SCENERY\FlyTamp_Vienna folder. How do I fix the altitude of the runways and taxiways?

Thx
0

#10 User is offline   captainpeter 

  • Administrator
  • View blog
  • View gallery
  • Group: Root Admin
  • Posts: 1,800
  • Joined: 03-November 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vienna/Austria
  • System:17" Macbook Pro i7, 8GB RAM

Posted 19 March 2007 - 05:33 PM

Hmm, I think I know why that could happen, but I dont understand why it happens on your computer and not on mine.
Are you using x-plane 8.60?

p
Posted Image
0

#11 User is offline   jjjj 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 36
  • Joined: 24-November 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:essb
  • System:MacPro, Tiger

Posted 19 March 2007 - 08:26 PM

I have an LOWW scenery that works fine in 763, 840 and 860 with no modification needed in any of them (env+dsf, and the v7 apt.dat is quite OK in v8). The terminal is old (v6?) but close to v8 3D standards in my opinion. It is really very nicely made. The only other objects are a row of hangars, probably ex-old-nyexpro. All objects have night textures.

I could easily send this little package (700k zipped) to anyone.

But the problem is copyright. I have no idea who made the terminal in the early days.

This is genuine XP, not ex-MSFS.

Could any of the moderators give his blessing for general sharing or could I at least send yebopilot a personal copy without violating?
0

#12 User is offline   captainpeter 

  • Administrator
  • View blog
  • View gallery
  • Group: Root Admin
  • Posts: 1,800
  • Joined: 03-November 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vienna/Austria
  • System:17" Macbook Pro i7, 8GB RAM

Posted 19 March 2007 - 08:55 PM

We obviously can't give the blessing for posting copyrighted content but we can't keep you from doing whatever you want privately.

The old LOWW objects could date as far back as version 5 and then Dieter Paesold, Michel Verheughen may be the designers.
Posted Image
0

#13 User is offline   jjjj 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 36
  • Joined: 24-November 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:essb
  • System:MacPro, Tiger

Posted 19 March 2007 - 09:32 PM

To use Austin's phrase: Understood.
0

#14 User is offline   murdockcrc 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 23-September 09
  • System:Macbook pro snow leopard

Posted 01 October 2009 - 12:19 PM

Hi

I bought the Flytampa vienna scenery, and used fs2xplane to convert it. I use XP 9.3 for mac. But, as stated above, a bunch of objects remain above ground level, which makes this scenery unusable. Does anyone know how to solve this object-altitude problem?

Kind regards,
Luis.
0

#15 User is offline   denny 

  • Four Stripes X Captain
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: betatester
  • Posts: 101
  • Joined: 13-February 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:EDDF / Germany
  • Interests:Aviation, Computer Science, DJing
  • System:AMD FX-4100, 8GB RAM, GTX 550TI / 2048MB, Windows 7, X-Plane 10 Global

Posted 02 October 2009 - 10:29 AM

View Postmurdockcrc, on 01 October 2009 - 12:19 PM, said:

Hi

I bought the Flytampa vienna scenery, and used fs2xplane to convert it. I use XP 9.3 for mac. But, as stated above, a bunch of objects remain above ground level, which makes this scenery unusable. Does anyone know how to solve this object-altitude problem?

Kind regards,
Luis.

you have that broblem with the passenger gates?
I have the same problem in some scenerys.
I would also be interested, how to fix the easiest.

can anyone help??
otherwise please open a new topic,
and declares it a short time.

thanks...
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#16 User is offline   captainpeter 

  • Administrator
  • View blog
  • View gallery
  • Group: Root Admin
  • Posts: 1,800
  • Joined: 03-November 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vienna/Austria
  • System:17" Macbook Pro i7, 8GB RAM

Posted 03 October 2009 - 01:35 AM

The issue can only be fixed by editing the converted scenery heavily.
Root cause for floating structures are elevation differences between MSFS & XP and the way objects are grouped and placed in 3D space.
Fixing it for LOWW takes about a week - if you know what you're doing, of course.

The results can be stunning though, especially if you remove the MSFS lighting and replace it with x-plane's new runway lighting system.
Posted Image
0

#17 User is offline   denny 

  • Four Stripes X Captain
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: betatester
  • Posts: 101
  • Joined: 13-February 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:EDDF / Germany
  • Interests:Aviation, Computer Science, DJing
  • System:AMD FX-4100, 8GB RAM, GTX 550TI / 2048MB, Windows 7, X-Plane 10 Global

Posted 15 October 2009 - 11:52 AM

View Postcaptainpeter, on 03 October 2009 - 01:35 AM, said:

The issue can only be fixed by editing the converted scenery heavily.
Root cause for floating structures are elevation differences between MSFS & XP and the way objects are grouped and placed in 3D space.
Fixing it for LOWW takes about a week - if you know what you're doing, of course.

The results can be stunning though, especially if you remove the MSFS lighting and replace it with x-plane's new runway lighting system.

the change of lighting system is no problem for me peter.
(I advise anyone to adjust these, it looks 1000% better)

I have only problems with the height corrections in some scenerys,
especially the passenger gates.
ok, then I need to deal with hard times probably 3d editing!!

=:-)

thanks peter...
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#18 User is offline   captainpeter 

  • Administrator
  • View blog
  • View gallery
  • Group: Root Admin
  • Posts: 1,800
  • Joined: 03-November 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vienna/Austria
  • System:17" Macbook Pro i7, 8GB RAM

Posted 15 October 2009 - 02:55 PM

Yeah, indeed, 3D editing & regrouping plus reconfiguring object centers for the resulting groups is the key to bring the airport structures to ground level.
This particular scenery uses one reference point for most objects. Unfortunately this point is not within the x-plane airport perimeter of LOWW.
This means it is not at airport elevation when flatten runways is activated and it will be all over the place when using sloped runways. (the MSFS airport is flat).

I always hated flattened airports which is why I went for the slightly harder fix, regrouping of objects, converting all ground textures to polygons, placing the structures from scratch in AC3D (Blender would have worked as well) and then straight to WED (built from source to get some v1.1 features long before it was released).

I'm still working on it btw., lots of work but really good to learn about the way airports should be done in x-plane. Most converted airports look awesome at first glance but they tend to be real CPU hogs.

If you have any specific questions about the process PM me.

p
Posted Image
0

#19 User is offline   denny 

  • Four Stripes X Captain
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: betatester
  • Posts: 101
  • Joined: 13-February 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:EDDF / Germany
  • Interests:Aviation, Computer Science, DJing
  • System:AMD FX-4100, 8GB RAM, GTX 550TI / 2048MB, Windows 7, X-Plane 10 Global

Posted 15 October 2009 - 05:38 PM

ok, thanks!!
oh yeah it is true, some converted scenerys are real cpu monster,
and not for the faint systems. (I hope austin can improve one or another in future)
for these systems it is worth not really,
if you then still much work and time put into it must.

I catch myself often themselves!!
I make more scenery customize, as I fly.

"because good, is not good enough"

:D
Posted Image

Posted Image
0

#20 User is offline   Tomas 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: 06-November 05
  • System:G4 Mac 1.33 GHz, 64 VRAM, 768 MB RAM

Posted 29 August 2010 - 01:13 PM

View Postcaptainpeter, on 11 February 2007 - 06:08 AM, said:

Or - if you are more adventurous - get FlyTampa Vienna.
Payware but definately worth every cent....

p


Peter, do you have this scenery converted? I would like to see some pics after conversion... If it looks similar to the original, it is worth to buy (as you said).

Tomas
0

Share this topic:


  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic