X-Plane Freeware Forums: Getting a FSX plane into blender - X-Plane Freeware Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Getting a FSX plane into blender How I did it

#1 User is offline   samen 

  • Insomniac
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • View gallery
  • Group: betatester
  • Posts: 616
  • Joined: 21-June 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OERY
  • System:Windows XP, 3.06 GHz processor, NVIDIA GeForce FX 5500 256 MB with 2GB RAM

  Posted 29 August 2010 - 10:06 PM

Due to some interest in the way I did it I have decided to write a tutorial about it.he basics of making with blender with x-plane.
This tutorial requires that you have some knowledge of creating for x-plane and t


1) Get these scripts.http://www.fsdevelop...read.php?t=8298
2)Run blender and go into File>Import>FSX mdl file.
It is worth noting that the in FSX you have two mdl files. One will be the interior and the other will have a similar name to model.RR etc.
3) Run the scripts and get the file into blender. You will notice a horrid looking mesh presented before you. Normals might be horrible and moving parts will be in their deflected position.
4) Here you will require a previous insight into blender and move the different objects around aligning them with the other meshes.
5)Some very expert 3D modellers might want to clear this but I used the edge split modifier to correct the shading problems. This will increase the number of verts and give some aggressive z-buffer but I dont know other ways of doing it without screwing up the mesh.
6) Import the .obj file of the plane you want to create the exteritor for. You can do this by opening the plane in plane-maker and going into special and clicking on create object file.
7) Move this file into the folder where your plane resides.
8) Import this file into blender and move it to a different layer than 1,2 and 3.
9) Move the FSX mesh in order to align it to the plane maker model.
10) Now you are ready to texture, Check in the texture folder that came with your FSX aircraft. Familiarize yourself with the texture files so you get to know what object uses which texture file.
11) Go back into blender and split a window. Open the UV/image editor in that.
12) Select an object such as the fuselage and go into edit mode and press 'A' once there to select all faces. The UV image editor will show the UV mapping in right order only that it might not have an image file associated with it.
13) Go into your aircraft folder and make a new folder called 'objects'. Place the texture files that you are going to use in blender into the objects folder.
14) Go back into blender again and open the texture files in the UV window. It is important that your files are in png format or you might run into problems later.
15) Now this is a very tiring step. You need to go into edit mode with each and every object and select the required texture file.
NOTE: It is important that you do not join objects in order to simplify this so called texturing of the objects. You will be backing out on a very useful feature then.
16) Once the whole mesh is textured you need to group objects that use a different texture file and move them to different layers and then into different .blend files.
17) An important step Go into shading, and materials(it is something like that, im away so the information being transferred here is limited). There will be three sliders to set up the materials. Pull them all up to 1.00.
18) Considering now that you may have split up the objects into different .blend files respective of the texture file save them in the objects folder and then export .obj files.
19) Go into plane maker>Standard>misc objects and select those obj files. Hide parts of your plane as necessary and then save. Open the plane in x-plane and check the exterior. If the mesh looks ok to some extent you are ready to animate.
20) Animation tutorial will be made next summer and this will be further detailed with screenshots as well next summer.
Posted Image
0

#2 User is offline   calipilot227 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: betatester
  • Posts: 227
  • Joined: 04-August 09
  • Gender:Male
  • System:Mac

Posted 30 August 2010 - 10:13 PM

Thanks for sharing! I'm having trouble installing the Blender to FSX plugin. Any suggestions? (I'm using a Mac, if that matters).
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
This is bunny. Add him to your signature and help him take over the world!!!
0

#3 User is offline   samen 

  • Insomniac
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • View gallery
  • Group: betatester
  • Posts: 616
  • Joined: 21-June 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OERY
  • System:Windows XP, 3.06 GHz processor, NVIDIA GeForce FX 5500 256 MB with 2GB RAM

Posted 31 August 2010 - 12:21 AM

Hmm, install the scripts manually?
Posted Image
0

#4 User is offline   calipilot227 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: betatester
  • Posts: 227
  • Joined: 04-August 09
  • Gender:Male
  • System:Mac

Posted 31 August 2010 - 09:43 PM

View Postsamen, on 31 August 2010 - 12:21 AM, said:

Hmm, install the scripts manually?


How do you do this? (sorry for being such a noob). I searched all over the internet and had no luck Posted Image
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
This is bunny. Add him to your signature and help him take over the world!!!
0

#5 User is offline   samen 

  • Insomniac
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • View gallery
  • Group: betatester
  • Posts: 616
  • Joined: 21-June 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OERY
  • System:Windows XP, 3.06 GHz processor, NVIDIA GeForce FX 5500 256 MB with 2GB RAM

Posted 01 September 2010 - 02:10 AM

Honestly I dont know myself. I could do it on previous versions of blender. Guess you should try harder
Posted Image
0

#6 User is offline   calipilot227 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: betatester
  • Posts: 227
  • Joined: 04-August 09
  • Gender:Male
  • System:Mac

Posted 02 September 2010 - 09:32 PM

Figured it out. Sorry for the trouble.
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
This is bunny. Add him to your signature and help him take over the world!!!
0

#7 Guest_plane700_*

  • Group: Guests

Posted 30 January 2011 - 08:12 PM

wait, how do you do this on mac? i have no idea, calipilot, couldya tell me?
0

#8 Guest_plane700_*

  • Group: Guests

Posted 21 February 2011 - 05:42 PM

View Postcalipilot227, on 02 September 2010 - 09:32 PM, said:

Figured it out. Sorry for the trouble.


wait, how did you do it? my mac doesn't do it either, where do i put the files?
0

#9 User is offline   Little Angel 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 04-April 11
  • Gender:Male
  • System:None - answering blender question

Posted 04 April 2011 - 01:34 AM

This has a description on how to load python script into Blender.

Read the entire topic first before attempting as the last post has a good tip on refreshing the scripts menu.

http://blenderartist...ually-for-Noobs
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic